08/23/2019  
85THE NEW YORK RIPPERLIFE DURING WARTIME (Criterion Blu-ray)JACKBOOTS ON WHITEHALLHIGH AND LOWTETSUO: THE BULLET MAN

follow us on twitter

dOc on facebook






Microsoft Store

Latest DVD Reviews

SQUIDBILLIES: VOLUME FIVE

SQUIDBILLIES: V

I'm a huge fan of a handful of Adult Swim shows, but this is one I've yet to see even a single episode of. What better excuse to finally do so than via Warner's fifth DVD collection.
Release Date: August 07, 2012 from Warner Home Video

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - September 14, 2012, 4:49 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: impoverished, dysfunctional, squids



ROSETTA (BLU-RAY)

ROSETTA (BLU-RA

It's great to see The Criterion Collection continue to release relatively obscure foreign films like this, regardless of their box office numbers. It would be a shock if this wasn't yet another one of their excellent Blu-ray efforts.
Release Date: August 14, 2012 from The Criterion Collection

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - September 3, 2012, 3:03 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: alcoholic, revelatory, ferocious



THE MOTH DIARIES (BLU-RAY)

THE MOTH DIARIE

Director Mary Harron is best known for bringing the character of Patrick Bateman to life on the big screen, but we'll see if she can work similar magic with an ensemble of young, attractive, female actors here.
Release Date: August 28, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - August 26, 2012, 5:31 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: haunted, diary, school



VIRGINIA

VIRGINIA

Academy Award Winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black takes his first crack at directing a feature film here. Here's hoping a great ensemble cast and interesting subject matter makes this a compelling debut.
Release Date: August 21, 2012 from E1 Entertainment

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - August 26, 2012, 6:48 am - DVD Review
Keywords: secrets, mormon, disturbed



SOUL KITCHEN

SOUL KITCHEN

Fatih Akin has yet to stumble as a director, and I'd be shocked if this was his first misfire. A powerful cast and compelling story should make this another unforgettable gem.
Release Date: December 21, 2010 from IFC Films

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - August 18, 2012, 7:23 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: gourmet chef, restaurant, hilarious, heartfelt



THE DEVIL'S NEEDLE AND OTHER TALES OF VICE AND REDEMPTION (BLU-RAY)

THE DEVIL'S NEE

None of these films is a masterpiece, nor are they in the best shape after almost a century of neglect. Nevertheless, they're extraordinary time capsules of a more liberal era.
Release Date: July 03, 2012 from Kino

Read More...

Posted by: Ross Johnson - August 7, 2012, 4:52 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: silent



FIGHTVILLE (BLU-RAY)

FIGHTVILLE (BLU

I am far from a fan of Mixed Martial Arts, but I do love a good documentary film, regardless of the subject. Good word of mouth has me thinking that this flick could be just that.
Release Date: July 10, 2012 from MPI

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - August 6, 2012, 1:04 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: combat, phenomenon, gladiators



4:44 LAST DAY ON EARTH (BLU-RAY)

4:44 LAST DAY O

Abel Ferrara hasn't made a great film in quite some time, but all signs point to this being a return to form for the director. The presence of the always-reliable Willem Dafoe certainly doesn't hurt.
Release Date: July 17, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - July 28, 2012, 9:35 am - DVD Review
Keywords: panic, seclude, doomed



THE DECOY BRIDE (BLU-RAY)

THE DECOY BRIDE

Despite a fine cast, I have a bad feeling this is too full of romantic comedy cliches for my blood. I'm hoping I'm wrong.
Release Date: June 26, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - July 24, 2012, 5:21 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: wedding, paparazzo, scottish



SOME GUY WHO KILLS PEOPLE

SOME GUY WHO KI

Despite a horrendous title, and cheesy-looking DVD cover art, a quick read of the plot synopsis and interesting casting has me chomping at the bit to give this flick a look.
Release Date: July 03, 2012 from Anchor Bay Entertainment

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - July 15, 2012, 9:57 am - DVD Review
Keywords: killing, loony bin, mental trauma



GRAY'S ANATOMY (BLU-RAY)

GRAY'S ANATOMY

I haven't seen this wonderful film since its first home video release, and I can't wait to relive that experience all over again. Steven Soderbergh has come a long way since, but this is still regarded as one of his best works.
Release Date: June 19, 2012 from The Criterion Collection

     

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - July 8, 2012, 11:23 am - DVD Review
Keywords: raconteurs, monologue, brilliant



DESIGNING WOMEN: THE FINAL SEASON

DESIGNING WOMEN

Designing Women, created by Linda-Bloodworth Thomason, was a very successful and unique situation comedy for its era with an almost completely female cast and a unique tone and perspective. Unfortunately most of the accolades pertained to the first five seasons of the show. Cast changes mixed up the chemistry of the show over its final two seasons and typically obtuse network decision making finalized its demise.
Release Date: July 17, 2012 from Shout Factory

Read More...

Posted by: Joseph Burke - July 1, 2012, 10:23 am - DVD Review
Keywords: situation comedy, television



PERFECT SENSE (BLU-RAY)

PERFECT SENSE (

This wonderful, emotionally balanced film was criminally ignored during it's brief, extremely limited theatrical run. There's no excuse to miss it on Blu-ray though, as the leads are fantastic and the story is beyond compelling.
Release Date: May 22, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - June 28, 2012, 8:26 am - DVD Review
Keywords: feeling, epidemic, sensory perceptions



WORRIED ABOUT THE BOY

WORRIED ABOUT T

While I'm not sure the masses were clamoring for a biopic about the infamous lead singer of 80s Pop group Culture Club, this flick promises to tell us everything we ever wanted to know about Boy George, and then some.
Release Date: May 22, 2012 from E1 Entertainment

 

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - June 17, 2012, 10:39 am - DVD Review
Keywords: drugs, fashion, glamour, music



THE GOLD RUSH (BLU-RAY)

THE GOLD RUSH (

I'm ashamed to say I'm never seen a movie either starring Charlie Chaplin or directed by him. What better way to finally break the seal on this cinema legend than with what many consider to be a comedic masterwork.
Release Date: June 12, 2012 from The Criterion Collection

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - June 9, 2012, 12:51 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: prospector, klondike, romance



A HOLLIS FRAMPTON ODYSSEY (BLU-RAY)

A HOLLIS FRAMPT

The Criterion Collection has gone the avant-garde short film route before, so I'm sure their collection of iconic American filmmaker Hollis Frampton's best works is sure to dazzle film fans on Blu-ray.
Release Date: April 24, 2012 from The Criterion Collection

  

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - May 27, 2012, 7:00 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: avant-garde, audacious, thrilling



SHOCK LABYRINTH 3D (BLU-RAY)

SHOCK LABYRINTH

I'm more than willing to take a look at anything from the maker of The Grudge, director Takashi Shimizu. From the sounds of reviews for this, his latest flick, my stance on Shimizu could, unfortunately, change pretty fast.
Release Date: May 08, 2012 from Well Go USA

     

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - May 25, 2012, 6:19 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: reunited, terrifying, hospital



RETURN

RETURN

Linda Cardellini has been laying relatively low since her stint on ER, but, according to buzz surrounding this film's limited theatrical run, she's back with a vengeance. A strong supporting cast sure doesn't diminish my high expectations for this film either.
Release Date: April 24, 2012 from E1 Entertainment

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - May 21, 2012, 7:31 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: iraq, struggling, veteran



NORMAN MAILER: THE AMERICAN

NORMAN MAILER:

This is an often unpleasant tale of a celebrated writer that is told frankly and openly by people who knew him personally. Director Joe Mantegna weaves their commentary into a visual history of the latter half of the last century and evokes an intriguing portrait of one its most important chroniclers. Norman Mailer: The American gives a multi-faceted answer to the question: who was that guy?
Release Date: May 08, 2012 from Cinema Libre Studio

Read More...

Posted by: Jesse Shanks - May 19, 2012, 9:52 am - DVD Review
Keywords: documentary, biography



THE TROUBLE WITH TOLSTOY

THE TROUBLE WIT

A challenging travelogue walks in the footsteps of Russia's biggest troublemaker.
Release Date: February 28, 2012 from Kultur

 

Read More...

Posted by: Ross Johnson - May 8, 2012, 11:48 am - DVD Review
Keywords: art, documentary



TITANIC: THE COMPLETE STORY

TITANIC: THE CO

In this anniversary year, there has been more than the normal amount of material about Titanic in popular culture including a new mini-series and a re-release of James Cameron's popular Titanic film remastered in 3D. Titanic: The Complete Story is a fine dvd set and for those who have dreamt of and wondered about this ship. They will enjoy learning just a little bit more of this doomed journey and the people who you never get to hear about that died that fated night on April 15th one hundred years ago.
Release Date: March 13, 2012 from A&E

 

Read More...

Posted by: Joseph Burke - May 7, 2012, 6:25 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: history, documentary



THOU SHALT NOT KILL...EXCEPT (BLU-RAY)

THOU SHALT NOT

I tried to watch this movie 10 years or so ago and simply couldn't get through it. Now, with Synapse responsible for this new Blu-ray treatment I'm more than willing to give the film another shot.
Release Date: April 10, 2012 from Synapse

     

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - May 5, 2012, 7:52 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: war, hell, cult, crazed



DONALD GLOVER: WEIRDO

DONALD GLOVER:

One of the stars of the hilarious NBC show Community, Glover is sure to be just as funny on the stand-up stage. It's nice that we finally have a DVD excuse to find out if this is, indeed, the case.
Release Date: April 10, 2012 from E1 Entertainment

   

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - April 29, 2012, 9:38 am - DVD Review
Keywords: unique, hysterical, smart, hip



INTO THE ABYSS: A TALE OF DEATH, A TALE OF LIFE (BLU-RAY)

INTO THE ABYSS:

The great Werner Herzog is at it again, this time giving us a heralded documentary about one of our more controversial subject, the death penalty.
Release Date: April 10, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - April 22, 2012, 1:04 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: executioner, death row, ominous



HOUSE OF PLEASURES: L'APOLLONIDE (SOUVENIRS DE LA MAISON CLOSE)

HOUSE OF PLEASU

Heavily represented on 2011 "Best Of" lists, this French film promises to be both an erotic and visual treat, boasting one of the largest casts in recent memory.
Release Date: March 13, 2012 from IFC Films

    

Read More...

Posted by: Chuck Aliaga - April 14, 2012, 2:16 pm - DVD Review
Keywords: brothel, erotic, glamorous



ShopNBC




Microsoft Store

On Facebook!
digitallyOBSESSED!
digitallyOBSESSED!
Promote Your Page Too

Visit:

Zarabesque.com

Original Magic Dress.com

Susti Heaven

Become a Reviewer | Search | Review Vault | Reviewers
Readers | Webmasters | Privacy | Contact
Microsoft Store